[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]
Re: SEO spam
Shaw Cable [http://www.shaw.ca/] is a cable provider up here in Canada eh!
Second to Roger cable. Shaw provides high speed cable Internet with similar
user names. GV in the username stands for Greater Victoria, that is metro
Victoria, on Vancouver Island, British Columbia.
Goto 411Canada.com and there's one Morgan Carey that lives just north of
Victoria. This might not be him, so please don't do anything regretable.
Also, it might just be someone that Morgan pissed off that is looking for
revenge by annoying other people in his name.
http://411ca.whitepages.com/search/Find_Person?firstname_begins_with=1&firstname=Morgan&name_begins_with=0&name=Carey&city_zip=&state_id=BC
Randy
http://www.kbcafe.com.
----- Original Message -----
From: "Asbjørn Ulsberg" <asbjorn.ulsberg@xxxxxx>
To: <atom-syntax@xxxxxxx>
Sent: Sunday, October 05, 2003 6:36 AM
Subject: SEO spam
I've just gone through ~100 pages on the Wiki and removed the SEO
spam were inserted by "px2cv.gv.shawcable.net". I hope it's possible
to track this bastard down, and block his IP or something.
I know it's possible to revert versions, but I didn't know how to do
it, and I wanted the changes to be done fast, so the SEO bastards didn't
get what they spammed the Wiki for; hits on their webpages. I hope no
search engines have picked up the SEO addresses from the Wiki during
the time the links were there.
To view a page that was spammed, here's the AuthorElementDiscussion
page of 05.10.2003 08:32:00:
http://intertwingly.net/wiki/pie/AuthorElementDiscussion?action=recall&date=
1065335520
At the top, right beneath the table of contents, there are three links
pointing to SEO stuff. I've removed all those on every page I could find.
--
Asbjørn Ulsberg -=|=- X-No-Archive: No
"He's a loathsome offensive brute, yet I can't look away"